Creativity

That pure, unadulterated productivity. I was recently told in an internship (in the creative field) that “It doesn’t matter how to get ‘X’ - just get it.” Maybe this was meant as some kind of motivation to be self-directive and materialize an idea or plan. The message it left with me was ‘don’t care much about the process. We only care about the result’. It was this, that went against everything natural in me. This was one of the reasons why I walked away from the job.

Creativity, for me, is a pursuit that happens spontaneously. In the dark. Made most special with another by your side, stepping into the imaginationatory abyss with you. Maybe this is a mentor or someone who truly cares for you. Creativity needs support. Newness needs tenderness. Openness needs understanding. These are the values I live by. This is the soil where my flowers are tended, reaching up towards the open sky.

A friend and photographer told me the other day that creativity happens over time. It’s a process to be respected - not rushed. As a person who tends to be impatient, this is something I really needed to hear. Taking on this internship, I thought there was something there for me, finally. The moment I had been waiting for and moving towards. But, creativity is it’s own entity, wild and untamed, riding on the wave of unexpected circumstance. So, it wasn’t what I expected…and that’s o.k.

If it’s true creativity, it will stand on it’s own. It will feel right. There will be no doubt. Not only will it be made in time, but it will outlive time itself. A life that is upheld by creativity is what Spencer and I want. And once it gets a hold of us, I hope it will never let us go.

“If we seek something, that same thing is seeking us.” - Writer, Paulo Coelho.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Beginning.

Everything is moving so quickly. I savour the moments spent with humans who can slow down. The ones who look you in the eyes and whose heart is still in the presence of unwanting. Uncraving. Unabashed. Writing slows me down. Makes me... Continue →